A Boston-area mother is facing charges after reportedly ditching her infant son in a trash barrel in the Lower Mills section of Dorchester.
Marie Merisier, 33, of Milton, was ordered held on $100,000 cash bail after being charged with attempted murder and reckless endangerment.
According to the Suffolk County District Attorney’s Office, Merisier reportedly gave birth at a Dorchester apartment on Feb. 26. As she prepared to leave the apartment, a resident said they heard the newborn crying inside Merisier’s leather bag and asked if she required an ambulance. Merisier allegedly declined.
The person called 911 after Merisier left the apartment.
Moments later, Merisier was reportedly seen on a security camera as she removed something from her bag and placed it in a trash barrel outside a Dorchester Avenue restaurant around 1:15 p.m.
A passerby heard a baby crying inside the trash bin and flagged down a nearby ambulance for help. EMS workers found a knotted plastic bag with the newborn inside, who they immediately drove to a hospital.
“It is because of all of these swift actions that this beautiful newborn is alive and now hopefully able to thrive,” Suffolk District Attorney Rachael Rollins said.
“I had the opportunity to briefly visit the baby on Saturday and was so happy to see nurses pampering, spoiling and singing to, feeding and generally pouring love and affection into this beautiful child.”
- Michigan woman arrested in connection with ‘disturbing’ discovery of dead baby in bloody bag
- 19-year-old woman leaves newborn baby in wooded area, charged with attempted murder, police said
- Mother Charged With Attempted Murder After 1-Hour-Old Baby Found Stuffed In Trash At California Gas Station: Cops
The boy is in good condition and with a temporary foster home in coordination with the Massachusetts Department of Children and Families.
“This situation did not have to happen,” Rollins said.
“But we need to make sure that parents of newborns know they have options if they feel hopeless, depressed, an inability to bond, or are having thoughts of harm to themselves or the child. Nobody should ever suffer in silence, but no harm should ever come to any child either.”
The 2004 state statute,“Baby Safe Haven Law” allows a parent the right to “voluntary abandonment” of a baby 7 days old or younger to a hospital, police department or manned fire station without facing abuse or neglect charges. The law also means the parent does not automatically waive parental rights.
Become a Front Page Detective
Sign up to receive breaking
Front Page Detectives
news and exclusive investigations.